Multiple Context Menus in a HierachicalDataTemplate

May 17, 2011 at 9:30 PM

Hi there, I'm working on a project which has departments, groups in those departments and users in those groups.
And like most here we wanted a right click feature for our Silver Light app.

I'm still fairly new to silver light and wpf in general and I'm having a few issues figuring out your DLL. I'm attempting to have a separate PopupMenu for each section of my tree view; one for users, one for groups, one for departments. I currently have a setup for group and user, but when ever I click on user I get the user and the group context. I understand why, since its just within the same bubble, I just can't figure out how to prevent it. I'm also wondering if I can use the GetClickedElement() to save myself from having to design a way to figure out the selected item of the treeView.

The only odd thing possibly at first glance would be the

Header="{Binding Path=DepartmentFolderTreeViewText}

We have a group and User one as well but only the department is currently databound, this is because we wanted a folder type of header so we can localize something for another language.

Hopefully you or someone else can explain wpf and your DLL a bit more to me, if not I'm sure enough poking will reveal results. If you have any more questions just ask.

Here's the main xaml

<StackPanel.Resources>
                <sdk:HierarchicalDataTemplate x:Key="UsersTemplate">
                    <StackPanel>
                        <TextBlock x:Name="UserItem" Text="{Binding user.userName}" />
                        <rclick:PopupMenu x:Name="UserItemMenu" RightClickElements="UserItem" >
                            <ListBox>
                                <rclick:PopupMenuItem Header="EditUser" Click="EditUser_Click" />
                                <rclick:PopupMenuItem Header="DeleteUser" Click="DelUser_Click"/>
                            </ListBox>
                        </rclick:PopupMenu>