Use two menus in a SL app

Nov 16, 2010 at 1:37 AM

Very helpful menu!

I am new to SL - is it possible to have two SL4popupmenus in one SL app, say a top menu and a pinned menu on the right of the app? How would you do this?

Thanx

Nov 17, 2010 at 1:15 PM
Hi Simone,
Sure you can. Have you tried tried to run the demo application? It
covers many scenarios, including the use of multiple menus, to get you
started and hopefully answer your question. Else just let me know and
I'll do my best to help you.

Regards

Ziad
>
Nov 17, 2010 at 1:52 PM

Hi Ziad

Thanks for the reply!

For some reason I didn't even think of the demo having multiple menus to help me with what I am trying to do :)

What I thought of is having a xaml for each menu that I want in my application. But the one just overwrites the other one then and you have two of the same menu in your app.

Should I just create the two menus in the one xaml file and position them where I want them to show in the app and use only one reference in the MainPage.xaml?

Thanks!

Nov 17, 2010 at 4:01 PM

Is it possible for you to send me a sample code where one menu 'overwrites the other' Simone?

That will help me a lot!

Nov 17, 2010 at 5:38 PM

Hi Ziad

Will post some code. If I want a main menu (e.g. file, edit, view etc.) at the top of the screen and a menu on the right in the middle which represents a "toolbar" menu, what would be the best way of implementing these menus in one application?

Thanks.

Nov 17, 2010 at 8:44 PM
Edited Nov 17, 2010 at 8:48 PM

Hi Simone,

Basically you start by adding a ListBox containing ListBoxItems as your topmost menu(the file, edit, view etc. menus in your case) to your XAML.